Home » Support » Knowledge Base » Knowledge Base

Knowledge Base

How to delete Torq 2.0 preferences
Text size [-] [+]

In some instances, Torq’s preferences files can become corrupt.  If you experience a change in Torq’s behavior and stability, deleting the preferences files can be taken as a troubleshooting step.

Changes in iTunes or to a song's ID3 tag will not be seen in Torq unless you remove a song from the database, delete it's corresponding .tqd file, and then re-analyze the song and add it to the database.  If you have made a lot of changes, it may be advantageous to delete all files from the database at once.

See the steps below for deleting Torq’s Database and Preference files.

Mac OS X

With Torq 2 closed, navigate to:

Macintosh HD > User > Library* > Application Support > Avid > Torq
* Note: In Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion), the User Library folder is hidden by default.  To access your User Library folder, hold down the Option Key and click the Go Menu at the top of your screen.  Your User Library will appear below Home.

The Torq database file is Torq.db.  Deleting this file will remove all files from Torq's database.  You will need to add your songs back to the database.

Continue to the State folder:

Macintosh HD > User > Library > Application Support > Avid > Torq > State

There are 3 preferences files that can be deleted: TorqAudioEngineState.xml; Torq EngineState.xml; TorqGuiState.xml

Upon relaunching Torq, any deleted Preference files will be automatically re-created with their default setting.

DO NOT delete the TorqEngine.plugin or TorqVstHost files that are located in the Torq 2 application folder!  These are essential for Torq's operation.


Windows

With Torq 2 closed, navigate to:

    C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Avid\Torq (Windows 7, Windows Vista)

Note: AppData is a hidden folder, to enable viewing of hidden files and folders, go to the Windows Control Panel > Folder Options, on the View Tab, select the button to Show hidden files, folders, and drives

OR

    C:\Documents and Settings\Local Settings\Application Data\Avid\Torq (Windows XP)

Note: Application Data is a hidden folder, to enable viewing of hidden files and folders, go to the Tools Menu > Folder Options, on the View Tab, select the button to Show hidden files and folders


The Torq database file is Torq.db.  Deleting this file will remove all files from Torq's database.  You will need to add your songs back to the database.


Continue into the State folder:

    C:\Users\AppData\Local\Avid\Torq\State (Windows 7, Windows Vista)

    OR

    C:\Documents and Settings\Local Settings\Application Data\Avid\Torq\State (Windows XP)


There are 3 preferences files that can be deleted: TorqAudioEngineState.xml; Torq EngineState.xml; TorqGuiState.xml

Upon relaunching Torq, any deleted Preference files will be automatically re-created with their default setting.

DO NOT delete the TorqEngine.dll or TorqVstHost files located in the Torq application folder!  These are essential for Torq's operation.